Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Ellis County

Ellis County

Ellis County is named for Albert A Ellis, who was vice president of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harper County

E – Woodward County and Dewey County

S – Roger Mills County

W – Hemphill County, Texas, Lipscomb County, Texas and Beaver County


Created:  November 16, 1907                Map of Oklahoma highlighting Ellis County

County Seat:

Grand  1907 – 1908

Arnett  1908 – present


County Courthouse – Arnett 


Location:  100 South Washington Street / Renfrew Avenue

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is approximately square and is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Arnett. The east front has a large portico supported by two large Ionic columns rising to the top of the second story with pediment above. The west side has an identical portico. The center section projects from the main building on the north and south sides with flat roofs. The base of the building is stone. The windows of the first two stories all have hood-molds or dripstones. The roof is hipped along the center section. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the second story.. The building houses the County District Court of the 2nd Judicial District.  In the 1930’s, the third story was added to house the jail. The architect was William E Hulse of Des Moines, Iowa and the contractor was W M Rice. On the south side are the Old County Jail and an Old Log Cabin.


See: The architect, Patrick Henry Weathers of Jackson, Mississippi, designed courthouses in Louisiana in Tensas Parish; in Mississippi in Lamar County, Lee County and Marion County; in Missouri in Cape Giradeau County, Daviess County and Stoddart County;  and in Oklahoma in Logan County and Washington County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Ellis County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Beckham County, Custer County, Roger Mills County and Washita County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Grand was selected as the county seat. In 1908, the county seat was moved to Arnett. A temporary courthouse was built in 1908 as the first courthouse until the town was formerly designated as the county seat. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1915 at a cost of $49,733.



County Courthouse – Arnett











County District Court courtroom







Old County Jail – Arnett



Old Log Cabin

Photos taken 2010