Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Dewey County

Dewey County

Dewey County is named for George Dewey, who was an Admiral in the United States Navy, or was named from the original county “D” during the land rush of 1892 and changed in 1907.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Woodward County and Major County

E – Blaine County 

S – Custer County

W – Roger Mills County and Ellis County 


Created:  May 2, 1892                            Map of Oklahoma highlighting Dewey County

County Seat:

Taloga  1907 – present


Former County Courthouse – Taloga ( demolished )


Location:  216 Broadway / West Rublee Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Maurice Jayne

Contractor:  Kreipke-Schafer Company


Description: The building faced east and was a two story white colored brick and concrete structure. The building was located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Taloga. The east front had a small portico on the first story. A cornice ran below the flat roof line. There was brown colored stone trim on the corners. This building was demolished in 2010 when the new courthouse was constructed on the east side.


See: The architect, Maurice Jayne, designed the courthouses in Harper County and Texas County.


County Courthouse – Taloga 



Location:  216 Broadway / West Rublee Street

Built:  2009 – 2910

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Architects in Partnership of Norman

Contractor:  Joe D Hall of Elk City


Description: The building faces east and is a one story wood frame and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Taloga. The east front has a raised entrance portico in the center. The building has square windows and the north side has a wing extending west. The roof is hipped. The interior has an entrance lobby on the east side. The County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the entrance lobby. The building houses the County District Court of the 4th Judicial District. On the west side of the courthouse is the Old County Jail.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Alfalfa CountyBlaine CountyGarfield CountyGrant County, Kingfisher County, Major CountyWoods County and Woodward County.    


History:  The county was created in 1892 and Taloga was selected as the county seat. The first court met in rented two story brick premises built in 1895 by Warren Roger. The second courthouse from 1909 to 1926 was a wood frame structure at Main Street and Broadway. The third courthouse was constructed in 1925 t0 1926. The courthouse was demolished in 2010. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2009 to 2010.



Former County Courthouse – Taloga







County Courthouse – Taloga











County District Court courtroom









Old County Jail – Taloga






Courthouse under construction 2010 – Taloga













Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2016