Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Grant County

Grant County

Grant County is named for Ulysses Grant, who led the Union forces to victory in the American Civil War and was elected President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harper County, Kansas and Sumner County, Kansas

E – Kay County

S – Garfield County

W – Alfalfa County


Created:  November 6, 1893                  Map of Oklahoma highlighting Grant County

County Seat:

Medford  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Medford 


Location:  112 West Guthrie Street / Main Street

Built:  1909 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Albert A Traver

Contractor:  Rowles & Bailey of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Medford. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Medford. The south front of the building has a high portico with limestone arch on the first story and having four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with pediment above. The brickwork of the first story is laid in a pattern of four raised bricks separated by one recessed brick, running horizontally. Brick pilasters rise from just above the first story to the cornice. Windows have stone sills and lintel bands. The foundation is limestone. The pitched roof covered with red colored tiles. The building houses the County District Court of the 4th Judicial District. On the northeast side is the two story County Jail.


Note:  The only other courthouse with a red colored tile roof is in Nowata County.


See:  The contractor, Rowles & Bailey of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, constructed courthouses in Nebraska in Phelps County and Nemaha County; in North Dakota in Pembina County; and in Oklahoma in Jackson County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Grant County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Alfalfa CountyBlaine CountyDewey CountyGarfield CountyKingfisher County, Major CountyWoods County and Woodward County.    


History:  The county was created in 1893 and Pond Creek was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wood frame structure built by C B Franke, J W Berryman, H N Wasson, P T Walton and C S Watson in 1894.  The  courthouse was destroyed by fire on December 12, 1896. The county rented premises until the second courthouse, a brick structure was built in 1897. The county seat was moved to Medford in 1908. The county met in the Palmer Opera House until the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1911 at a cost of $60,000.



County Courthouse – Medford













County Jail – Medford

Photos taken 2010