Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Kay County

Kay County

Kay County is named for the original name “K County” as the Oklahoma area moved from a territory to a state.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sumner County, Kansas and Cowley County, Kansas

E – Osage County 

S – Noble County 

W – Grant County


Created:  November 6, 1893                  Map of Oklahoma highlighting Kay County

County Seat:

Newkirk  1895 – present


County Courthouse – Newkirk 


Location:  201 South Main Street / West 8th Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Clyde H Woodruff

Contractor:  D C Bass & Sons of Enid


Description: The building faces east and is a four story buff colored stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Newkirk. The basement is raised. The east front has a large portico supported by six high Ionic columns rising to a header at the roof line. Behind the header is a small recessed fourth attic story forming a “+” with pediments on each side and having a hipped tiled roof. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 8th Judicial District.


See: The contractor,  D C Bass & Sons Construction of Enid, constructed courthouses in Major County and Woodward County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Kay County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Noble County.


History:  The county was created in 1893 and Newkirk was selected as the county seat in 1895 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in 1898. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1925 to 1926.



County Courthouse – Newkirk























Photos taken 2010