Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Alfalfa County

Alfalfa County

Alfalfa County is named for William Henry David “Alfalfa Bill” Murray, who was the ninth Governor of the State of Oklahoma.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Barber County, Kansas and Harper County, Kansas

E – Grant County and Garfield County

S – Major County

W – Woods County


Created:  November 16, 1907                Map of Oklahoma highlighting Alfalfa County

County Seat:

Cherokee  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Cherokee 


Location:  300 South Grand Avenue / East 3rd Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Tonini and Bramblet

Contractor:  Charles M Dunning


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cherokee. The building is faced with gypsum blocks and the west front has horizontal stone on the first story. Four large Tuscan columns rise from second story to the top of the third story with recessed windows in the center section. Pilasters of the same order continue the pattern on the remaining three sides of the courthouse. There is a wide cornice below the flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 4th Judicial District.  


See:  The architect,  Tonini and Bramblet ( and associates ), designed courthouses in Kansas in Crawford County and Oklahoma in Cotton County, Major County, Okmulgee County, Payne County, Tillman County and Wooward County.


See: The contractor, Charles M Dunning Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Cotton County and Tillman County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Alfalfa County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyDewey CountyGarfield CountyGrant County, Kingfisher County, Major CountyWoods County and Woodward County.    


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Cherokee was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame school house built in 1904. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1921.



County Courthouse – Cherokee











Photos taken 2010