Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas » Crawford County

Crawford County


Crawford County is named for Samuel J Crawford, who was a governor of Kansas from 1865 to 1868.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bourbon County

E – Barton County, Missouri

S – Cherokee County

W – Neosho County


Created:  February 13, 1867                  Map of Kansas highlighting Crawford County

County Seat:

Crawfordville  1867 – 1868

Girard             1868 – present


County Courthouse – Girard 


Location:  111 East Forest Avenue / North Summit Street

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Tonini & Bramblet

Contractor:  J J Rooney


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Girard. The north and south sides have a projecting porch with horizontal stone on the first story and four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story supporting a wide header. The first story has horizontal stone with a projecting ridge above and small pediment above the doorways. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. In the interior there is a cross hall plan on the first story from the north entrance and south entrance. The main staircase is at the north end. There is a three story atrium with gray colored marble and skylight at the top. The ceilings are coffered with plaster crowns and the floors are finished with marble rectangles. The Commissioners Room is located on the second story. The County District Court courtroom is located on the east side of the third story with the judge’s bench, which is marble. Marble wainscoting encircles the room and Corinthian pilasters, in double pairs, sit above the wainscoting. The ceiling is coffered. The building houses the County District Court of the 11th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1992.


See:  The architect,  Tonini and Bramblet ( and associates ), designed courthouses in Oklahoma in Alfalfa CountyCotton County, Major County, Okmulgee County, Payne County, Tillman County and Woodward County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Crawford County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – Pittsburg



Location:  602 North Locust Street / East 7th Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stuart Owsley

Contractor:  Home Center Construction, Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pittsburg. The main entrance at the northwest corner has pillars supporting a flat roof with recessed dark glass walls. Above rises a rectangular clock tower with red brick and concrete facing. A high stone faced wall extends northeast. Along the west side is a red colored brick section. The roof is slightly rounded. In the interior there is a wide north-south corridor. The three County District Court courtrooms are located along the east side. The building houses the County District Court of the 11th Judicial District. 


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Cherokee County and Labette County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Crawfordville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a school building. The county seat was moved to Girard in 1868 and the second courthouse was erected by James Hull which housed the courtroom and other offices were located around the square including Nelson Sinnet’s store. Construction on the third courthouse commenced in 1872 but the building was devastated by a tornado and the county occupied a former saloon. The fourth courthouse was a frame structure built in 1874. The fifth courthouse was a brick structure built as a City Hall in 1889 to 1890 and designed by A Schmid. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1922 at a cost of $420,000. In 2000 to 2002, the County Judicial Center was constructed in Pittsburg.



County Courthouse – Girard















County District Court courtroom















Picture 1890 County Courthouse



County Judicial Center – Pittsburg



















County District Court courtroom







Photos taken 2009, 2010 and 2022