Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Tillman County

Tillman County


Tillman County is named for Benjamin Tillman, who was a United States Senator from South Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kiowa County and Comanche County

E – Cotton County

S – Wichita County, Texas and Wilbarger County, Texas

W – Jackson County 


Created:  November 16, 1907                Map of Oklahoma highlighting Tillman County

County Seat:

Frederick  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Frederick 


Location:  201 North Main Street / West Gladstone Avenue

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Tonini and Bramblet

Contractor:  Charles M Dunning Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story gray colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Frederick. The building is constructed of concrete slabs laid to resemble dressed stone. The first floor has rusticated ashlar facing on the exterior walls. The main entranceway on the south side is recessed with ornamented triangular pediment supported by scrolled brackets. The back or north side of the building has a curved main wall which projects approximately 15 feet beyond the normal wall line. Smooth, Tuscan columns and pilasters separate the window bays of the second and third stories. The curved wall has six pilasters. The corner windows of the second story have ornamental pediments and scroll brackets. The building has a projecting cornice and a flat roof. The second and third stories have dividing pillars between the windows. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story where the building curves outward. The building houses the County District Court of the 3rd Judicial District.


See: The architect, Tonini and Bramblet ( and associates ), designed courthouses in Kansas in Crawford County and Oklahoma in Alfalfa CountyCotton County, Major County, Okmulgee County, Payne County and Woodward County.


See:  The contractor, Charles M Dunning Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Alfalfa County and Cotton County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Tillman County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Greer CountyHarmon County, Jackson County and Kiowa County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Frederick was selected as the county seat. The county rented space in several buildings and the city hall until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1922.



County Courthouse – Frederick















County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2010