Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Greer County

Greer County

Greer County is named for John Alexander Greer, who was a Governor of State of Texas.


Surrounsing County Courthouses: 

N – Beckham County and Washita County

E – Kiowa County

S – Jackson County 

W – Harmon County and Beckham County


Created:  May 4, 1896                            Map of Oklahoma highlighting Greer County

County Seat:

Mangum  1896 – present


County Courthouse – Mangum 


Location:  106 East Jefferson Street / North Oklahoma Avenue

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Solomon Andrew Layton

Contractor:  A O Campbell and L F Lee


Description: The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Mangum. The west front has a center section with three arches on the first story and four Ionic columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. The first story windows are arched. The building has a partial attic story visible from the front. The sides have triangular pediments centered above the four columns. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the northeast side of the first story. The third story has been closed and is not used. The building houses the County District Court of the 3rd Judicial District. On the east side of the courthouse is the County Courthouse Annex.


Note:  The courthouse originally had an elaborate copper covered dome centered on the top, but, it was removed in the 1940s because the weight of the dome caused structural damage to the building.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Creek County, Grady CountyHarmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma County, Pittsburg County and Washita County.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Harmon CountyJackson CountyKiowa County and Tillman County.


 History:  The county was created in 1896 and Mangum was selected as the county seat. The county rented space in several buildings in Mangum. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1906 to 1907.



County Courthouse – Mangum





















County District Court courtroom











County Courthouse Annex – Mangum

Photos taken 2010 and 2016