Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Pittsburg County

Pittsburg County

Pittsburg County is named for Pittsburgh a city in the State of Pennsylvania.


County Courthouse Courthouses: 

N – McIntosh County

E – Haskell County, Latimer County and Pushmatah County

S – Pushmatah County and Atoka County

W – Coal County and Hughes County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Pittsburg County

County Seat:

McAlester  1907 – present


County Courthouse – McAlester 


Location:  115 East Carl Albert Parkway / North 2nd Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Layton, Hicks & Forsyth

Contractor:  Colonel William Busby (1909) / Bailey-Burns Construction Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located in the center of McAlester. The building is “U” shaped with a recessed center section with four Ionic columns rising from the first story to the top of the second story and supporting a balcony on the third story. The three entrances are arched. The east and west wings extend to the street from the main building. There is a raised basement which has a rusticated facade of rough-cut granite blocks. The windows on the first story are arched and the windows on the upper stories are vertical and narrow. The County District Court courtroom is located at the southwest corner of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 18th Judicial District.  In 1926 the building was remodeled and converted for use as the courthouse. The architect was Layton, Hicks & Forsyth and the contractor was Bailey-Burns Construction Company. The building was renovated in 2009. The architect was Architects In Partnership of Norman and the contractor was Atlas General Contractors, LLC of Bixby.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer County, Harmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma County and Washita County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pittsburg County Courthouse


See:  The 18th Judicial District includes McIntosh County.


History: The county was created in 1907 and McAlester was selected as the county seat. The county rented office space until occupying the building which was constructed as the Busby Hotel in 1904 to 1905, when it was converted and remodeled in 1926 as the first and present courthouse.



County Courthouse – McAlester















Photos taken 2009