Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stephens County

E – Love County

S – Montague County, Texas and Clay County, Texas

W – Clay County, Texas and Cotton County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat:

Waurika 1907 – present


County Courthouse – Waurika


Location:  220 North Main Street / East D Avenue

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Layton, Hicks and Forsyth

Contractor:  W L Scott & Sons


Description: The building faces east and is a four story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Waurika. The east front of the square shaped building has a two story rectangular arch at the central entrance. Square areas of dark-toned brick beneath the windows provide contrast within the overall design. On the corners of the building are projecting sections rising to the top of the third story. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located at the northeast corner of the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 5th Judicial District. A small addition has been constructed on the south side.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer County, Harmon CountyMcIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma CountyPittsburg County and Washita County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jefferson County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Comanche CountyCotton County and Stephens County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Ryan was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Waurika in 1912. The county rented premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1931 to 1932.



County Courthouse – Waurika











County District Court courthouse







Waurika Rock Island Depot – Waurika



Photos taken 2006 and 2010