Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Muskogee County

Muskogee County

Muskogee County is named for the Muscogee Native American tribe which was a Creek Indian tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wagoner County and Cherokee County

E – Cherokee County and Sequoyah County

S – Haskell County and McIntosh County

W – McIntosh County and Okmulgee County


Created:  March 16, 1898                       Map of Oklahoma highlighting Muskogee County

County Seat:

Muskogee  1898 – present


County Courthouse – Muskogee 


Location:  220 State Street / Wall Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Renaissance Revival and Late 19th Century Revival

Architect:  Layton, Hicks & Forsyth

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Muskogee. The building is a colossal rectangular structure constructed of faced stone blocks. The ground floor is rusticated and consists of a series of arched windows and doorways, spaced at regular intervals. The second and third stories have central portions delineated by Ionic pilasters alternating with nine window bays. A projecting, modillioned cornice is surmounted by a parapet. The building has a flat roof. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District. 


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer County, Harmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh CountyOkfuskee County, Oklahoma CountyPittsburg County and Washita County.


See: The contractor, Manhattan Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Oklahoma in Bryan County, Craig CountyCreek County, Garvin County, Logan CountyNoble County, Oklahoma County, Pawnee County and Tulsa County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Muskogee County Courthouse


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Adair CountyCherokee County, Sequoyah County and Wagoner County.


History:  The first federal district court established in Indian Territory was located in Muskogee on March 1, 1889 as the Northern District. The courthouse was one story wood structure. The second courthouse was a three story red colored brick structure built by William Madden at Second Street and Court Street but was destroyed by fire in 1899. In 1902, the court became the Western District. The county was created in 1907 and Muskogee was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the Homestead Building at 2nd Street and Court Street constructed in 1906 to 1907. The building is still standing. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1928 to 1929.



County Courthouse – Muskogee













Photos taken 2009 and 2023