Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Garvin County

Garvin County

Garvin County is named for Samuel Garvin, who was a prominent Chickasaw Indian.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McClain County

E – Pontotoc County and Murray County

S – Murray County and Carter County

W – Stephens County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Garvin County

County Seat:

Pauls Valley  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Pauls Valley 


Location:  201 West Grant Avenue / North Willow Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Jewell Hicks

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description: The building faces southeast and is a three story gray limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Pauls Valley. Each side has a central entrance with horizontal stone on the first story. On the second and third stories, the windows are recessed. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 21st Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Jewell Hicks, also designed the courthouse  in Bryan County and Marshall County.


See: The contractor, Manhattan Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Oklahoma in Bryan County, Craig CountyCreek CountyLogan County, Muskogee County, Noble County, Oklahoma County, Pawnee County and Tulsa County.


See:  The 21st Judicial District includes Cleveland County and McClain County.



County Courthouse – Pauls Valley









Photos taken 2009