Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Pontotoc County

Pontotoc County

Pontotoc County is named for a Chicksaw Native American word meaning “cat tails” or “the prairie”


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N –  Pottawatomie CountySeminole County and Hughes County

E – Hughes County and Coal County

S – Johnston County

W – Murray CountyGavin County and McClain County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Pontotoc County

County Seat:

Ada  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Ada 


Location:  120 West 13th Street / Broadway Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Butler Company of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  The Chickner Construction Company of Hutchison, Kansas


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ada. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ada. The first story has horizontal stonework with central entrances on each side. A wide cornice runs between the first and second stories. Vertical pillars divide the windows on the second and third stories. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 22nd Judicial District. A small addition was constructed on the west side. The building was renovated in 2010. The architect was Architects In Partnership.


See:   The architect,  Forest Butler of Oklahoma City, designed courthouses in Custer County, Latimer County and Pushmataha County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pontotoc County Courthouse


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Hughes County and Seminole County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Ada was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was space occupied in the two story Federal Courthouse until the second and present courth0use was constructed in 1925 to 1926.



County Courthouse – Ada











Photos taken 2010