Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Coal County

Coal County

Coal County is named for the abundance of coal in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hughes County

E – Pittsburg County and Atoka County

S – Atoka County and Johnston County 

W – Johnston County and Pontotoc County 


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Coal County

County Seat:

Coalgate  1901 – present


County Courthouse – Coalgate 


Location:  4 North Main Street / East Clay Avenue

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Turnbull & Miller Inc.

Contractor:  Danielsen Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a one story tan colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Coalgate. The west front has a high center section with four large arches, side arches and recessed glass entrance. A wide tapered white colored band runs below the flat roof line. A concrete base runs along the bottom of the building. In the interior is a foyer with the courtroom on the east side. The County District Court courtroom is paneled with wood and has a high ceiling. The building houses the County District Court of the 25th Judicial District. 


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Coalgate was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a three story structure with dome designed by Patrick Henry Weathers and constructed by Manhattan Construction Company in 1908 to 1909. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 to 1969.



County Courthouse – Coalgate













County District Court courtroom









Picture 1909 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2010