Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Johnston County

Johnston County

Johnston County is named for Douglas H Johnston, who was a Governor of the Chickasaw Nation.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Murray CountyPontotoc County and Coal County 

E – Coal County and Atoka County

S – Bryan County and Marshall County

W – Carter County and Murray County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Johnston County

County Seat:

Tishomingo 1895 – present


County Courthouse – Tishomingo


Location:  403 West Main Street / North Capitol Avenue

Built:  1992 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Badgett & Coover-Clark of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  K J McNitt Construction Company of Oklahoma City.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tishomingo. The southwest front has a recessed center section rising to a peak at the roof line, The windows are small with horizontal windows in the center of the second story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 20th Judicial District.


Old County Courthouse – Tishomingo



Location:  411 West  9th Street / North Capitol Avenue

Built:  1896 – 1897

Style:  Gothic Victorian

Architect:  J A Shannon

Contractor:  Sparrow Construction


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brown colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tishomingo. The southwest front has a projecting center section with large arch on the first story with recessed entrance. On either side of the center section the building rises to two peaked dormers at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with dome at the top. The roof is hipped.


Note:  This building once served as the Chickasaw National Capitol when it was originally built. The building was designed to overlook the town on a grand hill . In 1910, Johnston County purchased the structure for $15,000 and it served as the county courthouse until 1992 when the Chickasaw Nation bought in back for $575,000. Johnston County finished its current courthouse, down the hill from this one in 1993. Because this courthouse was built in 1896, this is one of the oldest structures in the state that has served as a county courthouse.


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes Carter CountyLove County, Marshall County and Murray County


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Tishomingo was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1896 to 1897 as the Chickasaw National Capitol and sold to the county in 1910. The building is still standing. The second courthouse was constructed in 1992 to 1993.



County Courthouse – Tishomingo.











Old County Courthouse – Tishomingo.





Photos taken 2010