Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Marshall County

Marshall County

Marshall County is named for the maiden name of a member of the mother of George A Henshaw, who was a delegate to the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Johnston County 

E – Bryan County

S – Grayson County, Texas

W – Love County and Carter County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Marshall County

County Seat:

Madill  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Madill 


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / Main Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Jewell Hicks

Contractor:  Rooney & Culp


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Madill. The building is approximately square, faced with stone blocks and all four sides are identical. The central portion of each side is slightly recessed and has five window bays separated by Ionic columns rising from above the first story to the frieze. The windows are modern, with metal frames. Large pilasters define the corners of the building. The doorways are centered and recessed on each side of the courthouse. A cornice runs below the flat roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 20th Judicial District.


See: The architect, Jewell Hicks, also designed the courthouses  in Bryan County and Garvin County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Marshall County Courthouse


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes Carter CountyJohnston CountyLove County and Murray County



County Courthouse – Madill











Photos taken 2010