Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Love County

Love County

Love County is named for Overton Love, who was a prominent Chickasaw member popularly known as “Sobe” Love.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carter County

E – Marshall County

S – Cooke County, Texas and Montague County, Texas

W – Jefferson County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Love County

County Seat:

Marietta  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Marietta 


Location:  405 West Main Street / SW 4th Avenue

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Beau Arts

Architect:  Walter E Taylor

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company.of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Marietta. The building has a raised basement on the first story. The north front has a large portico supported by for large white colored Corinthian columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Similar porticoes are located on the east and west sides with the south portico having pilasters. The wings extend out at angles from the main building. On the center of the roof is a four-sided white colored cupola with clock and small cupola at the top. A white colored cornice follows the hipped roof. The County District Court courtroom is located on the third story. he building houses the County District Court of the 20th Judicial District. On the southwest side is the Old County Jail which houses a museum.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Love County Courthouse. The first courthouse


See:  The 20th Judicial District includes Carter CountyJohnston CountyMarshall County and Murray County


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Marietta was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.



County Courthouse – Marietta

















Old County Jail – Marietta



Photos taken 2009