Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Grayson County

Grayson County

Grayson County is named for Peter Wagener Grayson, who was an attorney general of the Republic of Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marshall County, Oklahoma and Bryan County, Oklahoma

E – Fannin County

S – Collin County and Denton County

W – Cooke County


Created:  May 17, 1846                          Map of Texas highlighting Grayson County

County Seat: 

Sherman  1847 – present


County Courthouse – Sherman  


Location:  100 West Houston Street / South Travis Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Moderne and Art Deco

Architect:  Voelcker & Dixon Inc.

Contractor:  Joseph E Morgan & Sons


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story cream colored limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Sherman. The building has a raised basement and has a reinforced-concrete skeleton frame. The north front has three entrances on the first story. The east and west corner sections project from the building. The roof line is flat with the center section rising higher and the fourth story set back seven feet. In the interior a central staircase rises from the entrance lobby. The first story contains an assembly room and County District Court courtroom. The second story has two large County District Court courtrooms and the third story has the upper part of the courtrooms. The fourth story housed the jail. The building houses the County District Courts and Constitutional County Court of the 1st Administrative Judicial Region. The building was a Federal Emergency Administration project. In 1962 to 1963, the building was expanded on the south side. 


See:  The architect, Voelcker & Dixon designed other courthouses in Cottle CountyGregg CountyJack CountyKnox CountyMidland CountyRockwall County, Van Zandt County and Wilbarger County.


County Justice Center – Sherman  



Location:  200 South Crockett Street / West Lamar Street

Built:  1983 – 1984

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Page Sutherland Page

Contractor:  Sun Country Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story limestone, glass and concrete structure. The building was located in the center of Sherman to the south of the courthouse. The building has an entrance with orange colored canopy on the northeast corner. There is a concave section with glass panel wall. The first story has concrete columns and the second story windows are horizontal. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtrooms are located along the second story. The building houses the County District Court, County Court at Law and County Justice Court of the 1st Administrative Judicial Region. 


See:  The 1st Administrative Judicial Region has a main office in McKinney in Collin County.


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Sherman was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1847 to the west of Sherman at a cost of $232. The second courthouse was a log structure built on the Public Square in 1848 and the third courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1850. The fourth courthouse was built of brick in 1853 and the fifth courthouse was built in 1859. The sixth courthouse was a two story structure   designed and built by Martin & Moodie in 1876. The courthouse burned in 1930. The seventh and present courthouse was constructed in 1935 to 1936 at a cost of 315,762. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 1983 to 1984.



County Courthouse – Sherman



















County District Court courtroom











County District Court small courtroom













County Justice Center – Sherman

















County District Court courtroom



Picture 1876 County Courthouse





Photos taken 2009, 2017 and 2019