Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Knox County

Knox County

Knox County is named for Henry Knox, who was the first secretary of war of the United States from 1785 to 1794.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Foard County

E – Baylor County

S – Haskell County

W – King County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Knox County

County Seat: 

Benjamin  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Benjamin  


Location:  NE – West Cedar Street / South Hinton Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Voelcker & Dixon

Contractor:  Dolph-Bateson Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story granite, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Benjamin. The south front has a central entrance. There are low relief panels and carved ornamental friezes. The steel casement windows are vertical. The roof line is flat. In the interior has tile floors and gray colored wainscoting. The large courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the State District Court and Constitutional County Court. To the west is the old County Jail built in 1887.


See:  The architect, Voelcker & Dixon designed other courthouses in Cottle CountyGrayson CountyGregg CountyJack CountyMidland CountyRockwall County, Van Zandt County and Wilbarger County.


History:  The county was created in 1858 and was assigned to Baylor County in 1876 for judicial purposes. Benjamin was selected as the county seat in 1886 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a wood structure built in 1886. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by McQuirk & Lewis and constructed by Ferier Brothers and Wirz in 1888 to 1891. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935.



County Courthouse – Benjamin































Picture 1888 County Courthouse





Conerstone 1888 County Courthouse



Old County Jail – Benjamin





Photos taken 2014 and 2019