Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Gregg County

Gregg County

Gregg County is named for John Gregg, who was a Confederate war hero.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Upshur County

E – Harrison County

S – Rusk County

W – Smith County


Created:  April 12, 1873                          Map of Texas highlighting Gregg County

County Seat: 

Longview  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Longview  


Location:  101 East Methvin Street / North Center Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Voelcker & Dixon

Contractor:  C S Lambie & Company


Description:  The courthouse faces south and is a seven story cream colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The courthouse complex consists of the Courthouse with the Courts & Records Building on the east and the modern addition along the west side. The buildings are located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Longview. The south front rises four stories with the upper three stories recessed. The first story central entrance is framed with stone. The building has a number of ornamentations. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court, Constitutional County Court, County Court at Law and Justice Court of the 11 th Administrative Judicial Region. On the east side is the Courts & Records Building constructed in 1958. The architect was Smith, Warder & Yost and the contractor was McClendon Construction Company. On the west side is the new Courthouse Annex constructed in 1980 to 1982. The building is a seven story glass and concrete structure which faces east overlooking the Courthouse Square. The building is connected to the courthouse on the east side. The architect was Allen Buie & Associates and the contractor was John J Guth Associates (Texas) Inc. of Shreveport, Louisiana.


See:  The architect, Voelcker & Dixon designed other courthouses in Cottle CountyGrayson CountyJack CountyKnox CountyMidland CountyRockwall County, Van Zandt County and Wilbarger County.


See:  The contractor, C S Lambie & Company, also constructed courthouses in New Mexico in Quaty County, Roosevelt County and Sierra County and in Texas in Chidress CountyHutchinson CountyMoore CountyPotter County and Ward County.


Note:  The 10th Administrative Judicial Region has a main office in the Gregg County Courthouse in Longview.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Longview was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was designed by Frederick Ernst Ruffini of Austin and built by John McDonald in 1879 at a cost of $13,447. The second courthouse was designed by Marshall R Sanguinet and built by G W Donaghey in 1897. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1931 to 1932 at a cost of $194,500.



County Courthouse – Longview













Courts & Records Building – Longview







County Courthouse Annex – Longview











Cornerstone 1897 Courthouse 

Photos taken 2010, 1017 and 2019