Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Upshur County

Upshur County

Upshur County is named for Abel Parker Upshur, who was the fifteenth secretary of state of the United States from 1843 to 1844.


Surrounding Counties Courthouses: 

N – Camp County

E – Morris County and Harrison County

S – Gregg County and Smith County

W – Wood County


Created:  April 27, 1846                          Map of Texas highlighting Upshur County

County Seat: 

Gilmer  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Gilmer  


Location:  100 West Tyler Street / Henderson Street

Built:  1932 – 1933

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Elmer G Withers

Contractor:  James T Taylor


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Gilmer. The south front has three arches on the first story with recessed entrance. The east and west corner sections project slightly. The third story is smaller and recessed. There are yellow colored vertical panels between the windows. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1974. The architect was Leland A Guinn AIA of Longview and the contractor was Besco Construction Company of Longview.


Note:  The first courthouse was a log cabin built in 1846. The second courthouse was a log cabin built in 1848 and burned in 1868. The third courthouse was built by J P Ford built in 1871 at a cost of $6500 and burned in 1888. The fourth courthouse was constructed by D A Blue in 1889 at a cost of $30,000. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $182,923.



County Courthouse – Gilmer





















Bell on Courthouse grounds



Photos taken 2010, 2017 and 2019