Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Camp County

Camp County

Camp County is named for John Lafayette Camp, who was a Texas politician.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Titus County

E – Morris County

S – Upshur County

W – Wood County and Franklin County


Created:  April 6, 1874                            Map of Texas highlighting Camp County

County Seat: 

Pittsburg  1874 – present


County Courthouse – Pittsburg  


Location:  126 Church Street / North Avenue

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Texas Renaissance and Classical Revival

Architect:  Smith and Praeger of Paris

Contractor:  Wentzel & Wood


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The square shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Pittsburg. The building has a raised basement. There are small porticos on the east and south sides with four thin columns. A narrow horizontal belt runs below the roof line and another belt is above the third story windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the State District Court and Constitutional County Court. On the east side is the one story County Courthouse Annex.


History:  The county was created in 1874 and Pittsburg was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by W C Dodson and built in 1881. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928 at a cost of $79,623.



County Courthouse – Pittsburg



















County Courthouse Annex – Pittsburg



Photos taken 2010 and 2017