Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Franklin County

Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Red River County

E – Titus County and Camp County

S – Wood County

W – Hopkins County and Delta County


Created:  March 6, 1875                         Map of Texas highlighting Franklin County

County Seat: 

Mount Vernon  1875 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Vernon  


Location:  200 Kaufman Street North / Dallas Street East

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Classical  Revival

Architect:  L L Thurmon & Company of Dallas

Contractor:  L R Wright & Company of Dallas


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story white colored brick and sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Mount Vernon. The building has a raised basement and is an “H” shape. The south side has a portico supported by four large columns with pediment above. On the west side is a larger portico supported by six large columns with pediment above. The building has decorative white colored brick molding. On the center of the roof is a dome with clock at the top. In the interior, the main hall on the first story has a north-south corridor and a double stair leading to the courtroom on the second story. The courtroom has a pressed metal ceiling and a balcony on the third story. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. On the north side is the two story County Jail.


See:  The architect, L L Thurmon & Company of Dallas also designed curthouses in Henderson County Jeff Davis County and Kinney County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Franklin County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1875 and Mount Vernon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wooden storehouse at the corner of Houston Street and Dallas Street donated by L E Brooks. The second courthouse was a brick structure built by W J Carter of Mount Pleasant in 1878 at a cost of $5,500. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912 at a cost of $42,000.



County Courthouse – Mount Vernon





















Photos taken 2010