Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Jeff Davis County

Jeff Davis County

Jeff Davis County is named for Jefferson Davis, who was the president of the Confederate States of America from 1861 to 1865.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hudspeth CountyCulberson County and Reeves County

E – Pecos County and Brewster County 

S – Presidio County

W – Presidio County and Mexico

Created:  March 15, 1887                       Map of Texas highlighting Jeff Davis County

County Seat: 

Fort Davis  1887 – present

County Courthouse – Fort Davis

Location:  100 Court Avenue / State Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  L L Thurmon & Company of Dallas

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky

Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red and white colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the spacious landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Fort Davis. The north and south sides have large porticoes with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The horizontal brickwork alternated from red to white colored brick. A wide horizontal band with projecting cornice runs along the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large dome with clock. In the interior, the first story is a cross-axial plan with two central halls. There is a divided stairway at the east end rising the second story where the courtroom occupies the entire central part. The courtroom furnishings were replaced in 1956, but some of the original longleaf pine floors remain, There is an ornamental tin pressed ceiling and gallery on the third story. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. The building was restored in 2003. The architect was The Williams Company Architects and the contractor was F T James Construction, Inc. To the south is the Old County Jail (1911)


See:  The architect, L L Thurmon & Company of Dallas also designed curthouses in Franklin County, Henderson County and Kinney County.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Fort Davis was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was an adobe structure built by William Jenkins in 1880 at a cost of $2,400 as the courthouse for Presidio County. The county seat was moved to Marfa in 1885 and in 1887, the courthouse became the courthouse for the newly created county. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911 at a cost of $4,700.



County Courthouse – Fort Davis 

















































Picture 1887 County Courthouse















Old County Jail (1911) –  Fort Davis 









Photos taken 2014 and 2019