Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Culberson County

Culberson County

Culberson County is named for David Browning Culberson, who was a lawyer and a soldier during the American Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Otero County, New Mexico, Eddy County, New Mexico and Loving County

E – Reeves County

S – Pecos County and Jeff Davis County

W – Hudspeth County

Created:  March 10, 1911                       Map of Texas highlighting Culberson County

County Seat: 

Van Horn  1911 – present

County Courthouse – Van Horn

Location:  301 La Caverna Avenue / East 3rd Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pierce, Norris, Pace & Associates of Midland

Contractor:  Hal K Showalter. Inc. of Midland.

Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Van Horn. The central entrance along the west front of the rectangular shaped building is recessed with brick decorative walls on either side. The windows are vertical. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the courtroom is located at the center of the east section. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. The building was remodeled in 2001. The architect was Cantrell & Stracener of Lubbock and the contractor was AAA Security Electric Company and DBA Local Contractor of Van Horn.


First County Courthouse – Van Horn

Location:  112 West Broadway / Van Horn Street

Built:  1901 / 1905 – 1906

Style:  Adobe

Architect:  Unknown / John Cox

Contractor:  Unknown / John Cox

Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored concrete block structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Van Horn. On the west side is a one story wing which extends south.The rectangular shaped building has vertical windows. The roof line is flat. The building was built as a post office and the main section was built in 1905 to 1906 by John Cox. In 1911 to 1912, the building served as the first courthouse. In 1918, the building was converted for use as a hotel by fred Clark. The building is now a museum.


History:  The county was created in 1911 and Van Horn was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the Clark Hotel on Broadway from 1911 to 1912 which is still standing. The building was converted to a hotel in 1918. The second  courthouse was designed by E E Churchill of Fort Worth and constructed by W T Malone in 1912 at a cost of $75,000. The building was demolished in 1967. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.


Note:  The highest point in Texas is Guadalupe Peak at 8,749 feet ( 2667 meters ) which is located in the county. 



County Courthouse – Van Horn































Photos taken 2014 and 2019