Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Red River County

Red River County

Red River County is named for the Red River of the South which was named for the red color of the clay in the water.


Surounding County Courthouses: 

N – Choctaw County, Oklahoma and McCurtain County, Oklahoma

E – Bowie County

S – Morris CountyTitus County, Franklin County and Hopkins County

W – Delta County and Lamar County


Created:  December 14, 1837                Map of Texas highlighting Red River County

County Seat: 

Jonesboro   1837

Madras        1837 – 1838

Clarksville    1838 – present


County Courthouse – Clarksville  


Location:  400 North Walnut Street / East Madison Street

Built:  1883 – 1884

Style:  Renaissance Revival and Second Empire

Architect:  William H Wilson

Contractor:  P C Livingston of Monroe, Louisiana


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Clarksville. The building has arched narrow windows on the first story and second story with round windows above. There is a wide cornice at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square cupola with clock and smaller cupola at the top. The building was restored in 2002. On the second story is a large courtroom. On the west side is a separate annex designed by Glenn Brothers and built in 1910.


History:  The county was created in 1836 as one of the original 23 counties and Jonesboro was selected as the county seat in 1837. In the same year, the county seat was moved to Madras. and in 1838 moved to Clarksville. The first courthouse was built in Jonesboro in 1830 before the county was created. The second courthouse was a frame structure built by Gilbert Clark in Madras in 1840. The third courthouse was a brick structure built by Yarborough in Clarksville in 1850. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1883 to 1884 at a cost $55,423.



County Courthouse – Clarksville



























Photos taken 2010 and 2019