Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Baylor County

Baylor County

Baylor County is named for Henry Weidner Baylor, who was a surgeon in the Texas Rangers during the Mexican-American War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wilbarger County

E – Archer County

S – Throckmorton County

W – Knox County and Foard County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Baylor County

County Seat: 

Seymour  1879 – present 


County Courthouse – Seymour


Location:  101 South Washington Street / West Morris Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pierce, Norris & Pace Associates of Dallas

Contractor:  The Flynt Bibb Company of Seymour


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Seymour. The west front has a recessed entrance with glass panels and with arches rising above the roof line. The large narrow windows are vertical and the roof line is flat. In the interior is the courtroom on the south side of the building. The Public Library is located on the north side. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and Justice Court.


History:  The county was created in 1858 and Seymour was selected as the county seat in 1879 when the county was organized. The county used rented premises. The first courthouse was a three story rough gray colored sandstone structure designed by James E Flanders and constructed by Ferner Brothers & Wirz in 1884. The building was renovated in 1917. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



County Courthouse – Seymour























Photos taken 2014