Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Throckmorton County

Throckmorton County

Throckmorton County is named for William Edward Throckmorton, who was an early Collin County settler.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Baylor County

E – Young County

S – Stephens County and Shackelford County

W – Haskell County


Created:  January 13, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Throckmorton County

County Seat: 

Williamsburg    1858 – 1879

Throckmorton  1879 – present


County Courthouse – Throckmorton  


Location:  101 South Minter Avenue / West Chestnut Street

Built:  1890 – 1891

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Martin, Byrne & Johnston

Contractor:  J L Dewes & Jacob Rath


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has a slightly projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story, double windows on the second story and pediment at the roof line. There are north and south wings. On the center of the roof is a high square tower with steep red colored roof. The roof is hipped. An annex was constructed in 1938. The building was restored in 2014 to 2015. The architect was Komatsu Architecture and the contractor was KBL Restoration.


See:  The architect, Martin, Byrne & Johnston also designed the courthouse in Stonewall County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Williamsburg in 1879. The second and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $16,450.



County Courthouse – Throckmorton  



























Photos taken 2014