Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Stephens County

Stephens County

Stephens County is named for Alexander Hamilton Stephens, who was the only vice-president of the Confederate States of America from 1861 to 1865.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Throckmorton County and Young County

E – Palo Pinto County

S – Eastland County

W – Shackelford County


Created:  January 22, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Stephens County

County Seat: 

Breckenridge 1858 – present


County Courthouse – Breckenridge


Location:  200 West Walker Street / North Rose Avenue

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  David S Castle of Abilene

Contractor:  Walsh & Burney of San Antonio


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story cream colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of the city. The south front has a central arched entrance on the first story. Columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story with windows between. A projecting cornice runs between the third and fourth stories. The east and west sides have projecting four columns sections. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, David S Castle of Abilene, designed courthouses in Borden CountyHansford County, Irion County, Mitchell CountyReagan CountySterling CountyUpton County and Winkler County.


Note:  The first courthouse was a log cabin built in 1876. The second courthouse was a stone structure designed by James Edward Flanders and built in 1883. The third and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $454,220.



County Courthouse – Breckenridge 



































Doorway 1883 County Courthouse



Photos taken 2014 and 2019