Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Custer County

Custer County

Custer County is named for General George Armstrong Custer, who was a United States Army officer and who died at the Battle of Little Big Horn.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dewey County 

E – Blaine County and Caddo County     

S – Washita County

W – Beckham County and Roger Mills County


Created:  April 19, 1892                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Custer County

County Seat:

Arapaho  1892 – present


County Courthouse – Arapaho 


Location:  675 B Street / North Broadway Avenue

Built:  1935– 1936

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Forest Butler of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  Sam S Laughlin of Oklahoma City


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped ground in the center of Arapaho. The south front has a central entrance with small pediment above. A wide horizontal band runs above the second story windows. The roof is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtrooms are located on the second story. In 1985 the east and west wings were added. The architect was Horacek and Smith and the contractor was C & D Construction Company Inc.


See:   The architect,  Forest Butler of Oklahoma City, designed courthouses in Latimer County, Pontotoc County and Pushmataha County.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Beckham County, Ellis County, Roger Mills County and Washita County.


History: The county was created in 1892 and Arapaho was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1894. When the courthouse burned in 1896 and the county offices were located in the Coleman Hotel. No courthouse was built until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1935 at a cost of $100,000. Expansion of the courthouse and renovation of the jail was completed in May 1985, at a cost of $3,700,000 million.



County Courthouse – Arapaho



















County District Court courtroom







County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2010 and 2016