Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Beckham County

Beckham County

Beckham County is named for J C W Beckham, who was a Governor of the State of Kentucky and the first popularly elected member of the United States Senate from Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Roger Mills County

E – Custer County and Washita County

S – Greer County and Harmon County

W – Collingsworth County, Texas and Wheeler County, Texas


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Beckham County

County Seat:

Sayre  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Sayre 


Location:  302 East Main Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Neo-Classical and Second Renaissance

Architect:  Solomon A Lawton of Layton, Wemyss, Smith and Hawk

Contractor:  Oklahoma Quarries & Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Sayre. The   west front has a projecting center section with rectangular framed entrance on the first story and two columns rising from the second to the top of the third story with recessed windows. The brickwork of the first story is an alternating pattern of six raised bricks and one recessed brick, running in horizontal lines. The north and south sides have four stone pilasters flanked by two wider brick pilasters of the same style.  Above is a wide header. A wide cornice runs between the first and second stories and below the roof line. The cornice is ornamented with dentils and pearl moulding and supports a brick parapet topped with a stone edge. On the center of the roof is a round dome with twelve Doric columns supporting the dome roof, which is covered with copper and painted a brown color. The large dome which has a four faced clock, is surmounted by a miniature dome, also supported by twelve Doric columns. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the south side of the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 2nd Judicial District. On the south side of the courthouse is the County Sheriff’s Office.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Carter County, Craig County, Creek County,  Grady County, Greer County, Harmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma County, Pittsburg County and Washita County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Beckham County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Custer CountyEllis County, Roger Mills County and Washita County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Sayre was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1908. The second and present courthouse was constructed 1911 to 1912.



County Courthouse – Sayre











County District Court courtroom











County Sheriff’s Office – Sayre



Photos taken 2010