Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Caddo County

Caddo County

Caddo County is named for the Native American word “Kaddi” which means “life” or “chief”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Blaine County and Canadian County

E – Canadian County and Grady County

S – Comanche County

W – Kiowa CountyWashiita County and Custer County 


Created:  August 6, 1901                        Map of Oklahoma highlighting Caddo County

County Seat:

Anadarko  1901 – present


County Courthouse – Anadarko 


Location:  201 West Oklahoma Avenue / SW 2nd Street

Built:  1957 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Noftsger-Lawrence and Associates of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  Barbour and Short


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Anadarko. The building is an “L” shape with a long south wing with no windows and an east wing. On the east front the north and south one short wings extend from the main building. The central recessed entrances have a high black colored stone wall between each entrance. The windows on the second story project from the building. A white colored cornice runs along the flat roof line. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 6th Judicial District. 


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Grady County.


History:  The county was created in 1901 and Anadarko was selected as the county seat. The county used a tent on the Courthouse Square in Andrako until the first one story wood frame courthouse was built in 1901. A second story was added in 1902. The second courthouse was a three story brick structure designed by J H Bennett and constructed by H J Van Denburg Construction Company in 1902. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1957 to 1958.



County Courthouse – Andrako















County District Court courtroom





Photos taken 2010