Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Kiowa County

Kiowa County

Kiowa County is named for the Kiowa Native American tribe who resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Beckham County and Washita County

E – Caddo County and Comanche County

S – Tillman County and Jackson County 

W – Jackson County and Greer County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Kiowa County

County Seat:

Hobart  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Hobart 


Location:  316 South Main Street / East 3rd Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical and Second Empire

Architect:  James Riely Gordon of San Antonio, Texas

Contractor:  J W Stokes Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story dark red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Hobart. The west front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story. The building has a basement and on the ground floor is a rusticated facade. Each side of the building has a large, central arched window. These windows are approximately 20 feet high and have a stone, eyebrow-like heading. A small, round window is located on either side of the arched window. All windows have wooden sashes, painted a green color. At the top is a stone parapet with ornamentation. The north and south side sections are lower. A wide cornice runs below the roof line which has a recessed third story. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The eastern section of the building was constructed shortly after the main building. The building was remodeled in 1972 after a fire destroyed the second story. The architect was Hudgins Thompson Ball & Associates and the contractor was Vaughan Construction. On the northeast side is the red colored brick County Sheriff’s Office.


See:  The architect James Riely Gordon of San Antonio, Texas


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Kiowa County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Greer CountyHarmon CountyJackson County and Tillman County.


History:  The county was created in 1901 and Hobart was selected as the county seat. The county used rented premises until the first and present courthouse was constructed in 1904 to 1905.


County Administration Building – Hobart ( demolished )



Location:  300 South Main Street / East 3rd Street

Built:  1935

Style:  Modern

Architect: Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faced west and was a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular building was located on the northwest corner of the sapacious landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Hobart, and had a central glass entrance framed by concrete on the west front. The roof line was flat. The building was located on the north side of the courthouse and was demolished in 2011.



County Courthouse – Hobart

















County District Court courtroom









County Sheriff’s Office – Hobart



Photos taken 2006 and 2016