Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Pottawatomie County

Pottawatomie County

Pottawatomie County is named for the Pottawatomie Native American people.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lincoln County

E – Okfuskee County and Seminole County

S – Pontotoc County and McClain County

W – Cleveland County and Oklahoma County


Created:  September 22, 1891               Map of Oklahoma highlighting Pottawatomie County

County Seat:

Shawnee  1891 – present


County Courthouse – Shawnee 


Location:  325 North Broadway Avenue / East 10th Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  A C Davis, Branson A Davis and Albon Davis of Shawnee

Contractor:  W R Grimshaw of Tulsa and Kib Warren Inc. of Shawnee


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Shawnee. The building has a raised basement. The west front has long vertical windows divided by stone dividers. The north and south sections extend slightly from the main building. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 23rd Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pottawatomie County Courthouse


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Lincoln County.


History:  The county was created in 1891 and Tecumseh was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built near the northwest corner of Broadway Street and Washington Street in 1897. The building was torn down in 1936 and replaced by the Municipal Building. The county seat was moved to Shawnee in 1930. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935.



County Courthouse – Shawnee









Photos taken 2010