Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 ) and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Payne County

E – Creek County and Okfuskee County

S – Pottawatomie County 

W – Oklahoma County and Logan County


Created:  September 22, 1891               Map of Oklahoma highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat:

Chandler  1891 – present


County Courthouse – Chandler 


Location:  811 Manvel Avenue / West 8th Street

Built:  1967 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hudgins – Thompson – Ball and Associates

Contractor:  Cowin Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Chandler. The building is “U” shaped with the east front having a projecting south wing with the entrance at the junction of the north wing. The long vertical windows are peaked at the top. A wide white colored band follows the flat roof line. On the northwest side is the older Courthouse Annex built in 1966 to 1967. The County District Court courtroom is located in the Annex. The architect was Robert Vahlberg and the contractor was John Esposito. The Annex houses the County District Court of the 23rd Judicial District. 


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Pottawatomie County.


History:  The county was created in 1891 and Chandler was selected as the county seat. The first county offices were in a business building until the first courthouse, a two story frame structure was built on the courthouse square in 1892. The courthouse was demolished by a tornado in 1897. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1897. The third courthouse was a two story stone Victorian structure designed by P W Weathers and constructed by Manhattan Construction Company in 1907. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on December 23, 1967. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1969.



County Courthouse – Chandler















County Courthouse Annex – Chandler





Cornerstone 1907 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2010