Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Stephens County

Stephens County

Stephens County is named for John H Stephens, who was a Texas congressman and an advocate for Oklahoma statehood.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grady County and Garvin County 

E – Garvin County and Carter County

S – Jefferson County 

W – Cotton County and Comanche County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Stephens County

County Seat:

Duncan  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Duncan 


Location:  101 South 11th Street / West Willow Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Jones- Halley and Associates

Contractor:  J J Bollinger Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Duncan. The central entrance is recessed dark glass panels with white colored pillars supporting the overhang below the roof line. The windows are vertical and narrow. There is polished stone facing on the recessed lower level which is recessed with pillars along the sides. In the interior, there is a long foyer with black colored marble walls and white and black floor. The County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 5th Judicial District. 


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Comanche CountyCotton County and Jefferson County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Duncan was selected as the county seat. The county rented space in Duncan until the first three story red colored brick courthouse was designed by Jewell Hisks and constructed by Manhattan Construction Company in 1921. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



County Courthouse – Duncan























Photos taken 2006 and 2010