Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Wichita County

Wichita County

Wichita County is named for the Wichita Native American tribe who resided in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tillman County, Oklahoma and Cotton County, Oklahoma

E – Clay County

S – Archer County

W – Wilbarger County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Wichita County

County Seat: 

Wichita Falls  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Wichita Falls  


Location:  900 7th Street / Travis Street

Built:  1916 – 1917

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Fields & Clarkson and C J Pate of Wicjita Falls and Saquinet & Staats of Forth Worth

Contractor:  Lisle-Dunning Company of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a four story stone, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The old stone building has been remodeled with a blue colored glass front with vertical dividers. The first story shows the original stone facing. The north and south ends are stone faced with no windows. The east entrance is recessed with glass doors. The roof line is flat. The building was remodeled in 1960 to 1961, changing the appearance of the building. The architect was Pond & Bellamy and the contractor was R G Farrell Company. An addition was added in 1957 on the northwest side. The architect was Jessie G Dixon and the contractor was C L Murph Construction Company.


Note:  Previous courthouses were built in 1883 and 1886.



County Courthouse – Wichita Falls 





















Photos taken 2006 and 2014