Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Oklahoma » Woods County

Woods County

Woods County is named for Sam Wood, who was a populist from the State of Kansas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Comanche County, Kansas and Barber County, Kansas

E – Alfalfa County and Major County

S – Major County and Woodward County

W – Woodward County and Harper County 


Created:  November 6, 1893                  Map of Oklahoma highlighting Woods County

County Seat:

Cloud Chief  1893 – 1899

Alva              1899 – present


County Courthouse – Alva


Location:  407 Government Street / Flynn Street

Built:  1954 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Joe M Mason and Edger B Wilson

Contractor:  Charles T Hughes Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Alva. The building is a “T” shape. The west wing is buff colored brick and the north-south east wing is stone. The entrance is a glass section where the wings join. The roof line is flat. In the interior is a large glass walled lobby. The building houses the County District Court of the 4th Judicial District.  


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Alfalfa CountyBlaine CountyDewey CountyGarfield CountyGrant County, Kingfisher County, Major County and Woodward County.    


History:  The county was created in 1893 as M County and Alva was selected as the county seat. In 1894, the name of the county was changed to Woods County. The county used rented premises until the first courthouse was designed by John J Huddart and constructed by Woods County Building and Investment Company in 1904. The building was demolished and replaced by the second and present courthouse constructed in 1954 to 1956.



County Courthouse – Alva

















Picture 1904 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2010