Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Elbert County

Elbert County

Elbert County is named for Samuel Elbert, who was the fifteenth governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hart County

E – Anderson County, South Carolina, Abbeville County, South Carolina and McCormick County, South Carolina

S – Lincoln County and Wilkes County

W – Oglethorpe County and Madison County


Created:  December 10, 1790                Map of Georgia highlighting Elbert County

County Seat: 

Elberton  1790 – present


County Courthouse – Elberton 


Location:  12 South Oliver Street / Heard Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Rueben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga, Tennessee

Contractor:  L L Stephenson


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Elberton. The building has a large stone trimmed arch at the center of the first story with recessed entrance. Above is a long balcony with white railings and white vertical columns rising to the protruding cornice. The roof has dormer windows. At the center over the entrance is a high square brick tower with clock and open octagonal white cupola with smaller cupola at the top. The large courtroom is located on the second story.


See:  Ruben Harrison Hunt of Chattanooga, Tennessee, the architect, also designed courthouses in Alabama in Talladega Countyin Mississippi in Chickasaw CountyLawrence County and Leflore County and in Tennessee in Hamilton CountyHenry CountyPolk County and Warren County.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyHart CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1790 and Elberton was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Thomas A Carter on Beaverdam Creek. The first courthouse was built in Elberton 1791 to 1792. The second courthouse was built on the Courthouse Square in 1816. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895.



County Courthouse – Elberton



















County Superior Court courtroom





















Photos taken 2008 and 2020