Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Madison County

Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Banks County and Franklin County

E – Hart County and Elbert County

S – Oglethorpe County and Clarke County

W – Jackson County


Created:  December 5, 1811                  Map of Georgia highlighting Madison County

County Seat: 

Danielsville  1811 – present


Old County Courthouse – Danielsville 


Location:  101 Courthouse Circle / General Daniels Avenue

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke & Company of Atlanta

Contractor:  Fred Wagner


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Circle in the center of Danielsville. The east front has a high central tower with arched entrance on the first story and open belfry and steep pyramidal roof at the top. On the southeast and northeast corners are square brick pavilions with steep pyramidal roofs. The rear pavilions are octagonal with similar caps. The brick is laid in an American bond. A stringcourse encircles the building between the first and second stories as does a water table at the base of the first story. Round arched and rectangular windows are on the first story and round arched windows are on the second story. The roof is hipped. The interior has plaster walls with wooden wainscoting and wood floors. The former courtroom is located on the second story. The building has been vacant since 1996.


See:  The cross plan of this courthouse is similar to the courthouse plan in Twiggs County.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Madison County Courthouse


County Courthouse – Danielsville 



Location:  91 Albany Avenue / Moseley Drive

Built:  1996 – 1997

Style:  Modern

Architect:  G Hubert Jones & Associates of Marrietta

Contractor:  Salloum Construction Company, Inc. of Athens


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story light yellow colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Danielsville to the south of the old courthouse. The southwest front has a wide porch with recessed entrance. Above the porch is a square tower with sloped green colored roof. The roof of the main building is sloped. The courtroom is located on the southwest side of the building. The building is the former Danielsville Elementary School and it became the core of the new structure named as the Madison County Government Complex. The building houses the Superior Court and Magistrate Court of the 10th Judicial District. 


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyHart CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1811 and Danielsville was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wood structure built after 1811. The second courthouse was a frame structure. The third courthouse was constructed in 1900 to 1901 and is still standing. The fourth and present courthouse was reconstructed in 1996 to 1997.



Old County Courthouse – Danielsville

















County Courthouse – Danielsville







County Superior Court courtroom











Photos taken 2013 and 2020