Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Benjamin Lincoln, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War and lived from 1733 to 1810.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Elbert County

E – McCormick County, South Carolina

S – Columbia County

W – Wilkes County


Created:  February 20, 1796                  Map of Georgia highlighting Lincoln County

County Seat: 

Lincolnton  1800 – present


County Courthouse – Lincolnton 


Location:  210 Humphries Street / Perry Man Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  G Lloyd Preacher

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Lincolnton. The building has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a wide white colored header atop of which is a white colored square cupola with clock and green colored dome. A wide white colored horizontal band runs below the protruding white colored cornice. The building has a green colored roof. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was renovated in 1995. The architect was Precision Planning Inc. of Lawrenceville and the contractor was Kirby Fahrion & Associates of Augusta. On the south side is the two story red colored brick Paul W Mins Courthouse Annex constructed in 1963. The architect was Robert McCreary, William Hughes Architects and the contractor was Sprartlin Contractors.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone County; in Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyHart CountyJackson CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1796 and Lincolnton was selected as the county seat in 1800. The first court met at the residence of Joseph Stovall. The first courthouse was a stone structure built in 1800. The second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1874 at a cost of $12,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1916.



County Courthouse – Lincolnton



















County Superior Court courtroom





















County Courthouse Annex – Lincolnton







Photos taken 2008 and 2020