Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Hart County

Hart County

Hart County is named for Nancy Morgan Hart, who was a woman sharpshooter and a patriot in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Oconee County, South Caroline and Anderson County, South Carolina

E – Anderson County, South Carolina 

S – Elbert County

W – Madison County and Franklin County


Created:  December 7, 1853                  Map of Georgia highlighting Hart County

County Seat: 

Hartwell  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Hartwell 


Location:  185 West Franklin Street / North Carolina Street

Built:  1971 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James W Hunt

Contractor:  Charles D Wise Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building sits in the center of courthouse square with the main entrance on the sou side, in the center of Hartwell. The entrance doors are recessed with the main building forming a square with a slanted concrete and stone roof edge. The building center rises higher and has the same roof edge. The windows extend from the ground to the roof line. The large courtroom is located at the center of the building. On the northwest side of the building is the one story bluff colored brick County Courthouse Annex.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1853 and Hartwell was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wood structure built in 1854.The second courthouse was built in 1855 to 1856. The third courthouse was designed by James Wingfield Golucke. The courthouse burned to the ground in 1967. The building was similar to the DeKalb County courthouse. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1971 to 1972.



County Courthouse – Hartwell









County Superior Court courtroom
















County Courthouse Annex – Hartwell





Picture 1902 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2008 and 2020