Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Clarke County

Clarke County

Clarke County is named for Elijah Clarke, who was the victorious commander over the British at the Battle of Kettle Creek in Wilkes County, Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County and Madison County

E – Oglethorpe County

S – Oconee County

W – Oconee County and Barrow County


Created:  December 5, 1801                  Map of Georgia highlighting Clarke County

County Seat: 

Watkinsville  1802 – 1871

Athens          1871 – present


County Courthouse – Athens


Location:  325 East Washington Street / North Jackson Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Italian Renaissance

Architect:  Anthony Ten Eyck Brown of Atlanta

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama


Description:  The building faces south and is a five story buff-yellow colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Athens. The south front has a large porch at the center with four large columns rising to a header at the roof line. A wide cornice runs below the fourth story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Superior Court of the 10th Judicial District, State Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court, County Magistrate Court and Municipal Court.  In 1986 to 1989, a five story addition was constructed on the north side and is joined to the courthouse by a glass atrium which is connected to the main building and abutted by a three-level parking deck. The architect was Jenkins-Peer Architects of Charlotte, North Carolina. The courthouse was renovated in 1990.


Note:  Many local businesses were listed as subcontractors. Among them were L M Leathers for sheet metal and roofing; the Dorsey Company for furnishings; Michael Brothers for linoleum and window shades; and Berstein Brothers for vault doors and opera chairs for the courtrooms. County offices were transferred from the Prince Avenue location in horse-drawn wagons and, according to county records, the courthouse was occupied on May 6, 1914. Total cost of construction was $219,000.


See:   Anthony Ten Eyck Brown also designed the courthouse in Florida in Miami-Dade County, in Georgia in Cherokee County and Fulton County  and in South Carolina in Union County.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County, Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Bleckley CountyLincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyHart CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1801 and Watkinsville ( now in Oconee County ) was selected as the county seat in 1802. The first courthouse was built in Watkinsville in 1906. The second courthouse was built in 1829 and the third courthouse was built in 1849. In 1872 the county seat was moved to Athens. County meetings were held in the old Town Hall in Athens until the fourth courthouse, a two story brick structure on Prince Avenue was constructed in 1876. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1914 to 1915.


County Administration – Athens



Location:  301 College Avenue / Washington Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Lewis F Goodrich of Augusta

Contractor:  J W Barnett


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Athens. The east front has a one story portico. There are similar porticoes on the north and south sides. The rectangular building has Lexington granite on the first story and has oolitic limestone trimmings on the upper floors. On the center of the roof is a high clock tower with square base and octagonal upper section topped by a green colored roof with lantern and eagle statue at the top. The building was the former Athens City Hall but it now houses the Clarke County-City Unified Government.



County Courthouse – Athens

























County Superior Court courtroom















County Superior Court small courtroom





City Hall / County Administration – Athens











City-County Council Chamber














Photos taken 2013 and 2024