Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Habersham County

Habersham County

Habersham County is named for Joseph Habersham, who was a Continental Congress member, a soldier in the Continental Army and the Postmaster General of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rabun County

E – Oconee County, South Carolina and Stephens County

S – Banks County and Hall County

W – White County and Towns County


Created:  December 15, 1818                Map of Georgia highlighting Habersham County

County Seat: 

Clarkesville  1818 – present


Old County Courthouse – Clarkesville 


Location:  555 Monroe Avenue / Washington Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  David Cuttino, Jr.

Contractor:  Harper Builders Inc.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building sits on a side of a rise on landscaped grounds in the center of Clarkesville. The southeast front has a large square yellow colored clock tower. The second story has large dark glass windows and the third story has vertical narrow windows. The building has a flat roof. In 1983, the combination bell tower and elevator were added to the front of the building. The building is now slated to be demolished.


County Courthouse – Clarkesville 



Location:  295 Llewellyn Street / Stanford Mill Road

Built:  2010 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  HOK Group, Inc.

Contractor:  Potts Construction Inc., Reeves + Young of Sugar Hill, Blake Rainwater & Associates of Clarkesville and Erudite Engineers, Inc of Canton.


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story steel frame, white colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the south part of Clarkesville on spacious landscaped grounds to the south of the center of Clarkesville. The building is on a slope with the south side exposing the dark brown colored first story basement level. The northeast corner has a circular three story projecting section with columns on the second and third stories and open arches on the fourth story. The main entrance is on the second story with large glass window on the third story. The roof line is flat. In the interior is a high entrance lobby. There are five courtrooms. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 9th Judicial Administrative District. The project manager was Ponds & Company.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Cherokee County, Dawson CountyFannin CountyForsyth CountyGilmer CountyGwinnett CountyHall CountyLumpkin CountyPickens CountyRabun CountyStephens CountyTowns CountyUnion County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Clarkesville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a small wooden structure built in 1821. In 1832, the second courthouse was a two story brick structure was built. The third courthouse, a two story brick structure was designed by J W Golucke and built by W D Hill in 1898. The building was torn down in 1963. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965 and is still standing but vacant. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 2010 to 2012 at a cost of $12,500,000.



Old County Courthouse – Clarkesville















County Courthouse – Clarkesville





















County Superior Court courtroom









Leggo model 1898 County Courthouse





Cornerstone 1898 County Courthouse



Photos taken 2008, 2013, 2020 and 2023