Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County

Gwinnett County is named for Button Gwinnett, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and a provisional Governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hall County

E – Barrow County and Walton County 

S – Rockdale County and DeKalb County

W – Fulton County and Forsyth County


Created:  December 15, 1818                Map of Georgia highlighting Gwinnett County

County Seat: 

Hog Mountain  1818 – 1820

Lawrenceville   1820 – present


Old County Courthouse – Lawrenceville


Location:  185 West Crogan Street / North Clayton Street

Built:  1885 – 1889

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Edmund G Lind of Atlanta

Contractor:  William M Norbeck of Atlanta


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lawrenceville. The south front has a one story portico with arches on three sides. The center section projects from the main building and rises to a peak at the roof line. On the southwest corner is a large square red colored brick clock tower rising four stories with balconies at the third story and white colored section at the fourth story with clock and white colored dome at the top. The small balcony on the corner of the front of the courthouse was originally used to summon jurors from the square. The east and west sides have central sections which rise to peaks at the roof line. The roof is gabled. The minaret tower was replaced in 1908 and the clock designed by Mr. McKinney of Gwinnett County was installed by J D Nash of Gwinnett County. On the north side is a two story red colored brick addition. The north wing was constructed in 1935 under the Works Progress Administration. The contractor was Mr. Jenkins plus convict labor.The.building now houses the Gwinnett Historical Society.


County Justice and Administration Center – Lawrenceville



Location:  75 Langley Drive / Constitution Boulevard SW

Built:  1988 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Richardson Inc. of Dallas, Texas and Architects Plus of Norcross

Contractor:  Heery Program Management.


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story white colored stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the south side of the center of Lawrenceville. The north side has a central recessed entrance with curved glass projection on the west side. The windows are horizontal with dividers between. The building rises in three tiers with a small slopped roof cap. The roof line is flat. In the interior there is a large atrium rising to a skylight at the top of the third story. Stairs and escalators ascend to the third story. The building houses thirty-one courtrooms and is the Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 9th Judicial District. On the south side is the five story Courthouse Addition constructed in 2018 to 2020. The building is rectangular shaped and connected to the County Justice and Administration Center along the north side. In the interior there is a jury assembly room as well as eight courtrooms, holding cells, workspace for the District Attorney, mediation rooms and space for up to six additional courtrooms. The building is named as the Charlotte J Nash Court Building. The architect was Pieper O’Brien Herr Architects and DLR Group and the contractor was Gilbane Construction of Providence, Rhode Island. To the southeast is the Gwinnett County Courthouse Annex which houses the County Juvenile Court.


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Cherokee County, Dawson CountyFannin CountyForsyth CountyGilmer CountyHabersham CountyHall CountyLumpkin CountyPickens CountyRabun CountyStephens CountyTowns CountyUnion County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Hog Mountain was selected as the county seat. The home of Elisha Winn in Hog Mountain was selected as the first center of government of the new county and the first elections were held there. The first jail was located adjacent to his huge barn that doubled as the first courtroom. The first jail, a log structure was built in 1820 and is still standing in Dacula. The first courthouse was constructed by Isham Williams in 1820 at a cost of $56. The county seat was moved to Lawrenceville in 1820 and the second courthouse was built as a temporary building until the third courthouse was built on the present site in 1824 at a cost of $4,000. The building burned in 1871 and was rebuilt in 1872. In 1884, the building was torn down and the fourth courthouse was constructed at a cost of $23,083 and is still standing.. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1988 to 1989. The Courthouse Addition was constructed in 2018 to 2020 at a cost of 75,000,000.



County Courthouse – Lawrenceville











County Courthouse – Lawrenceville



















County Superior Court courtroom in the addition













First County Jail (1820) located at Elisha Winn House – Dacuila







Photos taken 2013 and 2024