Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Glascock County

Glascock County

Glascock County is named for Thomas Glascock, who was a general in the War of 1812 and the Seminole War and later served in the Georgia General Assembly and Congress.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Warren County

E – Warren County

S – Johnson County

W – Washington County and Hancock County


Created:  December 19, 1857                Map of Georgia highlighting Glascock County

County Seat: 

Gibson  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Gibson 


Location:  62 East Main Street / Palmer Street

Built:  1919 – 1920

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  J W McMillian & Son of Milledgeville

Contractor:  J W McMillian & Son of Milledgeville


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gibson. The north front has a projecting center section with white colored framed entrance on the first story and large Georgian Revival arched window on the second story and rising to a peak at the roof line with oculus in the gable. On the east and west sides are projecting center sections and south section rising to peaks at the roof line. The roof is hipped. In the interior is a wood staircase ascending to the second story courtroom which has wooden benches and wooden judge’s bench. The building houses the Superior Court and Magistrate Court of the 10th Judicial District. The building was remodeled and expanded on the south side in 1942 and renovated in 1973.


See:  National Register of Historic Buildings – Glascock County Courthouse


Old County Courthouse – Gibson 



Location:  102 East Main Street / Pebbles Street

Built:  1858

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Judge William Gibson

Contractor:  Local Labor


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored clapboard structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gibson to the south of the courthouse. The north front has a one story porch with open balcony on the second story. There are green colored shutters at the windows. The green colored roof is hipped. The building was moved when the present courthouse was constructed on the courthouse site to the north and is now a private residence. 


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyHart CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton CountyWarren County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Gibson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1858 and is still standing. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1919 to 1920.



County Courthouse – Gibson





















County Superior Court courtroom





















Old County Courthouse – Gibson





Photos taken 2013 and 2020