Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Johnson County

Johnson County

Johnson County is named for Herschel Johnson, who was a Governor of Georgia and a vice-presidential candidate in 1860.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Washington County

E – Jefferson County and Emanuel County

S – Emanuel County and Treutlen County

W – Laurens County and Wilkinson County


Created:  December 11, 1858                Map of Georgia highlighting Johnson County

County Seat: 

Wrightsville  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Wrightsville 


Location:  2557 Elm Street / Court Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke and Stewart

Contractor:  Wagner & Gorenflo


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red- pink colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Wrightsville. The west front has a recessed center section with arched entrance on the first story. There are entrances on all four sides of the building and four corner pavilions each with a bracketed gable. Above on the second story is a large arched window. On the first story windows are segmentally arched while on the second story, they are round arched with emphasized keystones. The pedimented wooden clock tower rises in three stages surmounted by a small dome and is a later addition. In the interior, the County Superior Court room is located on the second story and has a coved pressed metal ceiling now covered by acoustical tile. The metal remains in the coved area. The courtroom is entered from the side and retains the original judge’s bench. The litigation area is large and has a sculptural balustrade between it and the spectator section. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was remodeled in 1938 and 1940 under the Works Project Administration. The building was renovated in 1996. The architect was Carter Watkins Associates of Monroe and the contractor was Paul S Aikins Construction of Statesboro.


Notice:  The courthouse is closed for major renovation work. The county office is located at 6315 US Highway 57 SE in the Cedar Creek Industrial Park.


See:  The “Y” floor plan is similar to the courthouse in Pike County which was also designed by James Wingfield Golucke and Stewart of Atlanta. This courthouse was the first of the twenty five courthouses designed by James Wingfield Golucke.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Johnson County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1858 and Wrightsville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wooden structure built in 1858. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895.



County Courthouse – Wrightsville













County Courthouse in 2024











Photos taken 2013, 2018 and 2024