Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was the third President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Glascock County, Warren County and McDuffie County

E – Richmond County and Burke County

S – Emanuel County and Johnson County

W – Washington County


Created:  February 20, 1796                  Map of Georgia highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat: 

Louisville  1796 – present


County Courthouse – Louisville 


Location:  202 East Broad Street / Screven Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Willis F Denney

Contractor:  P P Heifner


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Louisville. The building has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to pediment at the roof line. There are small pediments over the projecting first story windows. A wide horizontal band runs beneath the roof cornice. A high rectangular section is located in the center of the roof with an octagonal green colored cupola with clock rising in the center. In the interior there is a cross plan on the first story with a central lobby. A wide elegant staircase ascends to the County Superior Court courtroom on the second story which has beaded wainscoting around the room. There is a skylight at the entrance to the courtroom and recessed lighting and new benches. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was damaged by fire in 1938. The building was renovated in 1990. The architect was Dort B Payne and the contractor was Blalock & Blalock. To the east is the one story Commissioners Building.


Note:  The courthouse stands on the site of the Old State House, the first capitol building, an old brick and timbers building. The foundation was found during construction of the present courthouse.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jefferson County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History: The county was created in 1796 and Louisville was selected as the county seat. The first court met at private residences, the Louisville Academy and an old coffee house, between 1806 to 1816. The old State Capitol building was purchased and became the first courthouse. In 1848, the second courthouse was built using material from the former courthouse. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1904 to 1905 at a cost of $45,000.



County Courthouse – Louisville















County Superior Court courtroom

















Commissioners Building – Louisville

Photos taken 2008 and 2018