Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Wilcox County

Wilcox County

Wilcox County is named for Mark Wilcox, who was a member of the Georgia House of Representative who worked to create the Georgia Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Pulaski County

E – Dodge County and Telfair County

S – Ben Hill County and Turner County

W – Crisp County and Dooly County


Created:  December 22, 1857                Map of Georgia highlighting Wilcox County

County Seat: 

Abbeville  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Abbeville 


Location:  103 Broad Street North / East Main Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  J H McKenzie & Sons


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick, concrete  and stone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Abbeville. The south and west sides have large porticos with four columns rising to pediments at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a high white colored (formerly green colored) dome with four-faced clock and lantern at the top. A wide cornice runs along the roof line. In the interior, double iron staircases lead to the County Superior Court courtroom on the second story. The courtroom has round arched windows on each side that are alternated with pilasters. The balcony remains in use. The most notable feature is the high plaster ceiling of nine recessed squares ornamented with dentils. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1981. The architect was Cunningham Bailey & Foreman Architects Inc. and the contractor was Massee Builders, Inc. The building was renovated in 2014. The architect was J Glenn Gregory and the contractor was Burles Johnson II, 


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The courthouse resembles the courthouses in Upson County and in Dubois County, Indiana  designed by Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC. The courthouse in Upson County differs in that it has four pedimented entrances and the clock tower is much plainer in design.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Abbeville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wooden building constructed in Abbeville in 1858. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904.



County Courthouse – Abbeville













County Superior Court courtroom















Photos taken 2013 and 2018