Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Wilkinson County

Wilkinson County

Wilkinson County is named for James B Wilkinson, who was a United States commissioner who negotiated the Treaty of Fort Wilkinson and who was the first governor of the Louisiana Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Jones County and Baldwin County

E – Washington County and Johnson County 

S – Laurens County

W – Twiggs County


Created:  May 11, 1803                          Map of Georgia highlighting Wilkinson County

County Seat: 

Irwinton  1803 – present


County Courthouse – Irwinton 


Location:  100 Bacon Street / Main Street

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  Alexander Blair of Macon

Contractor:  C O Smith of Hazlehurst


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped in the center of Irwinton. The east front has a central entrance which is now closed, flanked by two columns on each side with a header above. On the second story are four windows with the roof rising to a peak with circular window. The north and south sections project from the main building. On the center of the roof is a wood cupola. The old part of the building has been incorporated into the new addition on the south and west side. In the interior, the large County Superior Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story in the original courthouse. Section. On the south side of the second story in the new addition is the County Magistrate Court courtroom. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. An annex was built in 1974. The building was expanded from 2004 to 2006. The south rectangular section is red colored brick with recessed section on the north and south ends. There is a large square red colored brick section on the west and main entrance is located on the south side between the old building and the west section. The architect was Brittain, Thompson, Bray Brown Inc. and the contractor was Massee Builders, Inc.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler County and Wilcox County.


History:  The county was created in 1803 and Irwinton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1817. The second courthouse built in 1818, burned in 1829 and the third courthouse was built. The fourth courthouse was built when the third courthouse burned. After 1864, the fifth courthouse was built after the fourth courthouse was destroyed during the Civil War. When it burned in 1924, the present and sixth courthouse was constructed at a cost of $36,473 in 1924 to 1925.



County Courthouse – Irwinton




















County Magistrate Court courtroom















County Superior Court courtroom











Photos taken 2013 and 2024